Founded in 1979 French heavy metal pioneers NIGHTMARE have been an integral of the European metal scene for the past three decades. Releasing their debut album "Waiting for Twilight" in 1984 and their sophomore release "Power of the Universe" in 1985.

After an extended hiatus, NIGHTMARE roared back onto the scene with "Astral Deliverance" in 1999 as former drummer Jo Amore assumed his new role as the band's vocalist, handing over the drum duties to his brother David Amore. That same year they would release their reunion concert "DeLIVErance".

In 2001 the band would release "Cosmovision" on Napalm Records and support the album by touring with Saxon, opening up for such acts as Grave Digger and Blind Guardian as well as playing several major festivals (Rock Machina in Spain, Skeleton Bash in Austria and Germany's prestigious Wacken Open Air).
NIGHTMARE's sixth album "Silent Room" was released on Napalm Records in 2003. And follow up "The Dominion Gate" would be released in 2005.

2007 would see the release of the critically acclaimed "Genetic Disorder" and the band would spend the entirety of 2007 and 2008 touring and playing many prestigious festivals including Hellfest, Gods of Metal, Basinfirefest, Hell Over Paradise and Metal Camp.
The next album "Insurrection" would mark their debut release on AFM Records in 2009. Two years later they released "One Night Of Insurrection”, the live show for the 30-year band anniversary on DVD / CD and toured with SABATON.
With "The Burden Of God" in 2012, NIGHTMARE returned with a superb new studio album. Having proven themselves to be the "best heavy metal export of France". "The Burden Of God" seamlessly combines the band's classic heavy / power metal roots with symphonic and contemporary elements.

NIGHTMARE's latest studio album, "The Aftermath" released in May 2014, would spell the end of their collaboration with vocalist Jo Amore and drummer David Amore.
Faced with this difficult change, the band was determined to come back stronger than ever!
On October 10th 2015, NIGHTMARE held a presentation of their new line-up in their hometown Grenoble; announcing the addition of powerhouse vocalist Maggy Luyten (Beautiful Sin, Beyond The Bridge, ex-Ayreon) and drummer Olivier Casula (Sandragon, ex-Thalidomide, The Seven Gates).
NIGHTMARE have released their latest studio album, "Dead Sun" in November of 2016 via AFM Records with new line-up...
After extensive touring and concerts in major festivals such as MetalDays in Slovenia, Hellfest in France, Sabaton Open Air in Sweden, 70000 Tons Of Metal and Full Metal Cruises and many others memorable shows culminating to an epic concert at Metal Blast Festival in Egypt, Nightmare have once again moved on to a new line-up following the departure of Maggy Luyten...

Presented at the Panic Fest festival in France on July 27th 2019, the new singer, Madie, proved that she could become the new "frontwoman" of the band! New album is on track with a release date planned for the fall of 2020...

NIGHTMARE 2020 is Matt Asselberghs (guitar), former member and co-founder of the band, Yves Campion (bass), Franck Milleliri (guitar), Madie (vocals) and Niels Quiais (Drum)...

The story continues!!


1981 - Demo (Demo)

1982 - Maudit Ton Destin (Demo)

1983 - Demo 83 (Demo)

1984 - Waiting For The Twilight

1985 - Power Of The Universe

1987 - Escape From The Mirror (Demo)

1999 - Astral Deliverance (EP)

2000 - Live Deliverance (Live)

2001 - Cosmovision

2003 - Silent Room

2005 - The Dominion Gate

2006 - Travel In The Spheres Of Time (Compilation)

2006 - The Heretic (Single)

2007 - Genetic Disorder

2009 - Insurrection

2011 - One Night Of Insurrection (Video)

2012 - The Burden Of God

2014 - The Aftermath

2016 - Ikarus (Single)

2016 - Serpentine (Single)

2016 - Dead Sun

2020 - Aeternam (Single)

2020 - Lights On (Single)

2020 - Aeternam




Insurrection - Cover
NIGHTMARE sind mittlerweile satte 30 Jahre on Tour und haben sich dabei eine kleine, aber feste Fanbasis erspielt.