Far beyond legendary and a living monument to fearless creativity, MAYHEM have cast an icy shadow across the world of heavy music for nearly four decades. Subversive students of the metal underground from the start, MAYHEM single-handedly pioneered a new strain of black metal in their native Norway, taking the nascent genre by the scruff of the neck and hurling it into the pitch-black abyss.
From the scabrous cacophony of “Deathcrush” in 1987 to the genre-defining mastery of “De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas” (released in the aftermath of founding member Euronymous’ untimely death in 1993), MAYHEM’s scorched earth approach to making music has earned them a unique reputation that propels them forward to this day. In musical terms, the band have never been less than radical. From the warped experiments of “Grand Declaration Of War” (2000) to the unfathomable, dissonant depths of “Ordo Ad Chao” (2007), every incarnation of MAYHEM has rewritten the black metal rulebook, uncompromising and revolutionary to the last.
Recent times have seen MAYHEM continue to evolve. The band’s current line-up – veteran members Necrobutcher (bass) and Hellhammer (drums), alongside guitarists Teloch and Ghul, and enigmatic vocalist Attila Csihar – have become a well-oiled and destructive machine. Beginning with the volatile and twisted starting point of 2014’s “Esoteric Warfare” and mutating with great alacrity through the pitiless, flesh-rending claustrophobia of “Daemon” in 2019.


  • Deathcrush - EP (1987)
  • De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas (1994)
  • Wolf’s Lair Abyss - EP (1997)
  • Grand Declaration of War (2000)
  • Chimera (2004)
  • Ordo Ad Chao (2007)
  • Esoteric Warfare (2014)
  • Daemon (2019)
  • Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando – EP (2021)



Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando

Punk is not Dead! MAYHEM präsentieren sich auf „Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando“ von einer anderen Seite!