Before The Dawn

BiografieBack in 1999, when Tuomas Saukkonen felt the need to break his routines as a drummer of a local band, his new metal project called BEFORE THE DAWN was born. As soon as the studio was booked, the following demo session started a decade that brought 3 demos, 5 full length albums, 1 DVD and 2 mini albums. BEFORE THE DAWN also hit both single and album charts in the bands home country Finland many times and played a huge amount of shows in more than 16 countries supporting bands like KATATONIA, MOONSPELL, SWALLOW THE SUN, SCAR SYMMETRY and AMORPHIS.

Soon, the band had gathered a solid fan base all around the globe. Although the first 10 years were characterized by many label and line up changes, 2010 introduced the strongest BTD line-up ever to be seen on stage and in the studio. The year also took the band to position #1 of the official Finnish chart with their “Decade Of Darkness” EP and in front of Asian metalheads in China and Japan supporting STRATOVARIUS and TURISAS. No matter what, BEFORE THE DAWN never rested and hit the studio soon again, recording their highly anticipated new album “Deathstar Rising” which was mixed and mastered in November 2010 and once again proves the magic BEFORE THE DAWN stands for.

Combining the heaviness of melodic death metal, the gloom of dark metal and the frostbitten cold of finnish winters with beautiful melodies and epic hymnody like no other band out there, Tuomas and his crew have paved their way to uniqueness!

With their sixth album, Tuomas Saukkonen and his gang pick up where they left of with their highly successful 2007 effort “Deadlight”, delivering melodies and emotions, brutal riffs and devastating intensity. A unique mixture, fans of dark music have been looking for so long or might already know it – either way, “Deathstar Rising” is a must have for self considered music lovers!Quelle: - To Desire (Demo)

2001 - Gehenna (EP)

2003 - My Darkness

2004 - 4:17 AM

2005 - The First Chapter (DVD)

2006 - The Ghost

2007 - Deadsong (Single)

2007 - Deadlight

2007 - Faithless (Single)

2008 - Dirty Black Summer (Split)

2008 - Soundscape Of Silence

2010 - Decade Of Darkness (EP)

2011 - Deathstar Rising

2012 - Rise Of The Phoenix


Decade Of Darkness - Cover
Die Finnen BEFORE THE DAWN rechnen sich gerne dem Düster-Genre zu oder werden von nicht ganz aufgeklärten Kollegen dorthin gesteckt.
Rise Of The Phoenix - Cover
Mit der hörenswerten, vor knapp über einem Jahr erschienenen EP “Decade Of Darkness” verabschiedeten sich die Finnen von ihrem alten Label Cyclone Empire hin zu Nuclear Blast, wo sie nun z