Rob Van Der Loo´s Freak Neil Inc.


The album (produced by Joost van den Broek) tells the story of several different characters who have to deal with their own frustrations in life.

Since each character is unique the album contains several different musical styles to reflect their personalities.
In a few words the music can be described as : Dark, raw, loud and most of all weird!


In the year of 2002 bass guitarist / Stick player Rob van der Loo (known for his work with progressive metal band Sun Caged) released his first instrumental solo EP called Six Arms. After a lot of good reviews and loads of enthusiastic reactions from fans it was obvious that a full-time album had to come.

First of all Van der Loo wanted to make a sequel to the Six Arms EP but after some brainstorming he came up with a new concept. A project with the bass guitar as the main instrument (just like before) - but this time with vocals, several guest musicians and much extremer music.
A new experimental metal project called Freak Neil Inc. was born.

After a few weeks of composing and looking for guest musicians Van der Loo decided to record a full length album along with the following line up:


Rob van der Loo: Basses, Chapman Stick

Roel van Helden: Drums


Irene Jansen (Star One/Ayreon)

André Vuurboom (Sphere of Souls, ex-Sun Caged)

Arjen Anthony Lucassen (Star One/Ayreon)

Nick Hameury (Engine of Pain)

Guest Musicians:

Bass: Steve DiGiorgio (Death, Testament, Iced Earth, Artension), Sean Malone (Cynic, Gordian Knot)

Chapman Stick: Ron Baggerman (Galaxy Gypsy)

Guitar: Chris Godin (Gnö), James Murphy (Death, Obituary, Testament), Marcel Coenen (Sun Caged, Lemur Voice)

Keys: Joost van den Broek (After Forever, Star One/Ayreon, ex-Sun Caged)

Quelle: - Characters


Characters - Cover
Der Holländer Rob Van Der Loo scheint sich bei seiner Hauptband SUN CAGED nicht ausgelastet zu fühlen, anders kann ich mir einen musikalischen Overkill wie das Projekt FREAK NEIL INC. nicht erklären.