In Battle

BiografieIn Battle formed in 1996 when Frölén (guitar/bass), Östlund-Sandin (vocals) and Wiklund (drums) of ODHINN joined forces with Sjödin (guitar/bass, a.k.a. Mysteriis) of SETHERIAL.

The first album "In Battle" was recorded at Sunlight Studio in Stockholm, Sweden in 1997, and contained twelve extremely fast and brutal black metal songs. The second album "The Rage of the Northmen" was recorded at Ballerina Audio in Umeå, Sweden in 1998, with the line-up consisting only of Frölén on guitar and bass, and Wiklund on drums and vocals. Nine songs of Viking black metal were the result.

In 1999 the only member left was Frölén, who started writing material for a third album. In 2002 he began rehearsing with Sandin (this time on drums), soon asking Hans Carlsson (guitar) of DIABOLICAL to join the band. In 2003, Nils Fjellström of AEON replaced Sandin on drums and Sandin went back to handling the vocals and the "Soul Metamorphosis" MCD was recorded at Necromorbus Studio in Stockholm, Sweden with a style more leaned towards death/thrash metal. The same year the band signed a contract with Metal Blade Records.

"Welcome to the Battlefield" was recorded and released in 2004. This time the recording took place in three different studios, drums were recorded at Courthouse Studio in Östersund, Sweden, guitars and bass were recorded at Necromorbus Studio in Stockholm, the vocals were recorded at Mana Recording Studios by engineer Shawn Othani, and the album was mixed and mastered by Erik Rutan of MORBID ANGEL and HATE ETERNAL. The album contains 11 death/thrash metal songs of true aggression and boiling adrenalin. This was to be the only album to be released through Metal blade as the band and the company agreed to part ways after the release.

In 2006 In Battle signed a contract with Nocturnal Art Productions and began working on their 4th full-length album. The album, entitled "Kingdom Of Fear" continues where WTB ends yet it moves the band´s sound towards a more raw and carnal feeling. Kingdom Of Fear is released September 3rd 2007 through Candlelight Records and Nocturnal Art Productions and distributed worldwide through Plastic Head Distribution.


Odhinn Sandin - Vocals

Hasse Carlsson - Guitar

John Frölén - Bass

Nils Fjellström - Drums
Quelle: - In Battle

1998 - Rage Of The Northmen

2004 - Soul Metamorphosis (EP)

2004 - Welcome To The Battlefield

2007 - Kingdom Of Fear



Kingdom Of Fear - Cover
Vor knapp drei Jahren saß ich hier vor dem Vorgänger "Welcome To The Battlefield" der schwedischen Knüppelformation, aber mein Eindruck von dieser Band hat sich nach dieser Zeit, einem Labelwechsel un
Welcome To The Battlefield - Cover
Sechs Jahre lang herrschte Funkstille bei den schwedischen Knüppelbrüdern, die in der Vergangenheit einen qualitativ eher zweifelhaften Ruf genossen.